Can't find instruments in Cubase

I am 70 year old Cubase rank novice and I would be very grateful if someone could help get me started. I’ve watched several YouTube videos and although they are very helpful they seem to have added to my problems! I have created a project and imported a MIDI file to use as a backing track to accompany my singing and guitar playing. My first problem is that when I play the file there is no sound. I think that might be because I haven’t assigned instruments to the tracks? That’s my second problem. My Cubase seems to have no instruments. I assumed it would come with at least a basic set of instruments/samples etc. Now at this point I might even sound like I know what any of that means but I don’t. Also, is there an online user manual that I can access to help with my other basic issues. I am quite IT literate especially in Excel in which I am an expert so I can learn from manuals. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Cheers, Gary

Yes. You can find all manuals in the Steinberg page. They are in several languages, English included of course.

To access the instruments you must click on one of the top right icons to make the right side zone visible, and then click media - and you will see there several Instruments. You can drag the instrument to the project.

I am new too, but I hope this info serves you. Good luck

Hi, many thanks. I found the online manuals. I also found the instruments but I haven’t been able to drag the drums to my drum track. I’ll keep experimenting but if you have any other tips I would be very grateful. Cheers, Gary

Hi
I think you are trying to drag the drums to a midi track? You should use an instrument track, hope it helps:)

Check out these Groove3 videos about Cubase.

You can get a monthly all you can eat (er view) pass for $15, which is great for a couple month training blitz.