Catalina + Cubase 10/10.5 = bollocks

I’m American, so “bollocks” has an especially nice ring to it to me.

I use a complex template. It used to load perfectly in 10 and 10.5 on Mojave.
Got a new Macbook with Catalina on it. I wanted the extra power.
I trashed preferences in both versions of these programs, and that template doesn’t load.

I’m a tech by day, I know how to troubleshoot and eliminate variables, and I’ve done this.
Something is amiss and I was thinking it was 10.5 just not ready for primetime, but the problem also occurs in version 10.

I’d be willing to work with Steinberg to get this issue diagnosed and banged out, but it just seems like I’m spitting into the wind in these forums.

Anyway, I’m not leaving Steinberg, I’m leaving Catalina. Dumping her actually. Over text, even.

Do not upgrade to Catalina. Wait a year, or never. Save yourself the headache. Your soul will thank you. You have been warned.

I use Catalina and have no issues whatsoever Cubase is running flawlessly

Oh I’m sure there are success stories. Perhaps if you start from absolute scratch, and maybe have a more simple setup. Maybe there WAS an offending plug-in that just wasn’t working so well for me. I just couldn’t isolate it. There was no consistent issue I could find. Trying to rebuild my template from scratch didn’t work. Plugins would load fine, then I would save the project and try to reopen it and it wouldn’t open. Cubase just gone.