Click track: I hear one thing, it records another

Hello all,

I’m fairly new to Cubase, but am coming from another DAW where the problem I’m about to describe wasn’t a problem, so here goes…

I have a session setup using my midi keyboard. I’m recording MIDI notes to one track, and I have the keyboard plugged into my audio interface in stereo. I’m arming all 3 tracks at the same time (stereo send out of the keyboard into the interface, and a track armed for midi, playing a VST piano).

I’m recording to the click track, set at 70 BPM. When I actually play to the live click, I’m landing on the beats dead-to-rights, in terms of what I’m hearing coming through my speakers. In fact, to test this, I just did one note, quarter notes, on each beat, recording one midi note and one track of the keyboard itself using a random piano sound. Keyboard is a Yamaha MODX in case that matters.

When I play the track BACK, the notes are now playing slightly off the beat, generally ahead of it. What is playing back is different than what I’m playing in, at least in terms of what I’m hearing.

When I look at the MIDI notes, I can see the “transient” is all over the place, while the audio version of the piano is largely lining up with the beats.

Now before we get too far, my primary instrument is piano and I’ve recorded to a click track a million times :slight_smile:. While I understand that there will be slight variations in how the midi is recorded, I can tell by simply playing quarter notes on the beat that the click track I’m hearing live when tracking ends up recording midi that is different than what I’m actually hearing.