Clipping after Low Cut EQ

Hello,

I have a question about using plugins in the master section in Wavelab Elements.

I have this problem: I have loaded a WAV file - peak at about -0.1 dB - and the Master Rig plugin with the EQ modul enabled. If I set the EQ modul to a low cut filter, the volume and peak of the track in the master section suddenly goes about 2 - 7 dB higher and there’s a lot of clipping.

I tried this with other EQ plugins, but it happens all the time.

When cutting of the low end, the volume should decrease and not increase, or not?

What am I doing wrong? Did I overlook something? I am not a Wavelab pro, but I’ve been working with audio editing for a lot of years and this never happened to me.

I added a screenshot of the problem to this topic.

Can anyone help me?

I use Wavelab 10.070 on Windows 10 with a RME Multiface I soundcard.

Thansk in advance,

Philipp

Sounds like Q is too steep at the filter frequency. You need to apply a lower value.

Thats the nature of the filters.
Use a low shelf instead and play with the Q.

Thanks for the fast answers.

Okay, so I always thought wrong about the function of a low cut filter. Q is flat, so it shouldn’t have an influence on it I guess.

But why does the volume increase when a section of the sound is cut? I somehow don’t understand it.

This does not seem normal, but I can’t reproduce this. Please save and upload it here.

Personally I would not try and master a track that is peaking at -0.1 dB . Reduce the gain and try again would be my advice.

I recorded a screencast with the problem, but I somehow can’t post or upload it here because there are no videos or links allowed.

Maybe this works: (there’s a space between “youtube” and “.com”

www.youtube .com/watch?v=iGJvKy2Ssb8

Thanks a lot in advance, this problem keeps making me mad.

I discovered this some years back as a debunk to the low cut gives you more headroom myth. I did try to talk about it but I was mostly ignored (which is usual).