Coding: Read XML-file in CPR-file

I’ve been using Cubase for about 5 Years so I have created over 500 projects. I want to reboot my Laptop. At some point I started to save the projectfiles in a completely different folder from where the projects are saved, so the projects should have the file-path of their projectfolders saved somewhere. I know how I could theoretically move the Folders and Projectfiles so that the Projectfiles find the ressources again, but I’m really annoyed of the structure of how it was saved in the first place (that’s on me ofc).
I’m trying to write a code that reads the File-path to the respective Projectfolder and changes it’s current name to the name of the respective Projectfile.

As far as I’ve found out, the paths to the projectfolder is saved in the XML-files, which somehow are in the CPR-files. For some reason the Pythonscript can not read the XML-file, so I wonder if it’s not a usual XML-File and how I can read it correctly.

My Laptop is kinda slowly decomposing so I really need to manage this before it completely breaks down.

Hi there and welcome to the forums!

How did you find this out? As far as I can tell, the cpr format is completely binary.

TBH it was just a hint chatgpt gave me… I’m pretty new to coding so I’m trying to gather as much information as possible. Do you know how to extract the file path of the project folder from the CPR-file?

You can’t, sorry.
Besides, I don’t think you’re asking the right question. Is there a “project folder path” stored in a Cubase project?
Cubase stores the path to audio files, as can be seen in the Audio Pool, in the project. Is that what you mean?
When a Cubase project is opened and it can’t find an audio file where it last was, you will be asked to provide the new location of said file.