Connecting different external instruments

Hi, I’m new to cubase.
Would like to ask if there’s a way for connecting multiple external synths, using Motu M4 as audio interface?
I just got Cubase pro 12, but for what I have found, I can only connect and record one external instrument, unless I have an audio interface with multiple ins. I have about 12 different external instruments connected to a Yamaha mixer. The outputs of the mixer are connected to the inputs of the MOTU. My problem is that I can only control and record one instrument. Is there something I can do to fix this?

I honestly don’t quite understand what you mean with that.

Hi Nico5, thx for the reply. Sorry for not being clear, English is not my first language.
What I’m trying to say is that the one synth that I choosed to connect though external instrument, can save the preset I want to use for the project through cubase. That way, when the project is opened, the synth can find that preset automatically, so I don’t have to look it manually at the synth. That is what I mean with controlling it. The same synth can also be recorded.

I would like to know if there is a way were I can do the same with my other synths.
I’m now experimenting with midi track, but it would be great if I could do it through instrument tracks, like a VST.

Hoping what I wrote makes some sense.

It makes a little more sense now.

First you have to make sure that you have midi connections (with midi cable or USB cable) to each of your external synths.

And then it should be possible to do what you want:

Also: there seem to be several YouTube videos: cubase set up external instruments - Google Search

This should work pretty much the same in Cubase 12 as in previous versions.