Control surface for Cubase (buying question)

Hello
Do you have a good recommendation for a control surface?. I am really new to recording but I was shopping around for a control surface/mixer so I can automate some of the sounds and record the automation.

Thank you in advance!

I was looking on Amazon

Nektar Panorama P1 Control Surface https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00C1QJEH6/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_CMDlDbYXCG9

But one of the reviews says:

Sleek and beautiful design but it does not integrate well with Cubase (that’s the DAW I’m using, so my review is based on using it with Cubase Pro). I had such a hard time setting it up and then Cubase kept crashing. Once I emailed support (which is relatively fast in replying) and we fixed the crashing issue after writing back and forth, I was still left with a ton of bugs and issues. I bought this to get a faster productivity but it did the contrary.

Thank you

You don’t need a DAW mixer to do this. This is achieved in Cubase. A DAW controller is simply real hardware to replace moving faders, pan ports, VST and VSTI controllers.

Maybe I’m not understanding your objectives. personally a controller like Metagrid has enhanced my workflow much more than a DAW controller does. DAW controller for mixing, Metsgrid for better control.

I find external control surfaces usefull when doing recording alone. Since it is cabled you can have a relatively small control surface close to your instrument without moving the computer or crashing the instrument into the desk. For this purpose you can also use an iPad or similar with a remote controller downloaded, like Cubase IC Pro.

As another OP mentiones, you do NOT need an external control surface to manage faders or make automation. Some people do however find a hardware fader to be more precise. And some like them because that is what they are used to before the DAWs came.