Corrupted DDP ?

Hi guys,

I’m having an issue with Wavelab Pro 9.5. I work as a mastering engineer and I sometimes do DDP exports for a CD’s manufacturing company. Since the beginning of 2019, I had two majors issues and I don’t really know if the problem comes from me or the company.

I did two very simple DDP (standard pauses, Redbook norm) and the clients of the company came back with error readings. Some CDs doesn’t work. Not all of them, just a few, like 10 %.

I don’t change anything in my way of doing DDP so I don’t really know what could be the mistake, if I made one.

My partner, the CD’s manufacturing company, is a service provider. They just give the order to manufacture the CD, and they use to work with 2 plants. The first issue happened with a new plant, and that was the first time I sent them a DDP. So we first believed the issue came from them.

But last week, I sent a DDP to the second plant, with whom I used to work with. And the same problem appeared.

Have you guys ever experienced problems like mine ? Have you got an idea of how I should diagnosed it ?

I opened my DDP with others softs like Studio One Pro 4 and it works fine. I burnt CDs from the DDP with Wavelab & Studio One and it worked again.

Does the conformity check of Wavelab before export is reliable ?

Thank you in advance !

R.

Hi,

there is an option after exporting to DDP called “Import Audio Montage”. Please check the “verification DDP checksums (slow)” option.
If there is something wrong with the DDP, it would bring out a message.

cheers
Kay

I can say that I’ve been using WaveLab exclusively for making DDP files since ~2012 and have never had a DDP rejected or problematic CDs made (that have been reported to me anyway).