CPU Efficiencey Query

Hi there does anyone have any understanding about why Im getting poor utilization on my cpus.

When Im maxed out on ASIO Ive still got at least 70% of my cpu idle according to tak manager.

Ive been on all sorts of missions to balance things out

Cubase 6 - 7
-using 32 & 64 bit mode
-setting priority to high and affinity to use all cores
-ASIO guard and multi core support disabled just makes things run worse obviously
-Fresh install of operating system

Im using Dell XPS17 L702X, Cubase isnt exactly underperforming but sometimes Im sure theres more power available.
Does everyone experience this readout in task manager? Im using the Reaktek Onboard but cant beleive that it has anything to do with anything.

Heres a screenshot hope someones got some theories
](http://postimg.org/image/4kvdofbkx/)[/img]

CHEERS

I’m not an expert, but the audio driver latency and available CPU processing power aren’t necessarily tightly related… It’s more down to how well ALL your PC components work together, and this becomes more chaotic at lower audio driver latencies because when they introduce random delays you’ll notice. With higher latencies the system as a whole can absorb the random delays and catch up, but at lower latencies it can’t. All it takes is one less than ideal component and you’re scuppered. You’ll probably never find out definitively what’s causing this and it’ll undoubtedly be different on a different system I think.

For example, I can’t run at 6ms at all, sometimes a fresh project at 12ms, so mostly I run at about 50ms. But I can run enormously complex projects with plenty of CPU headroom because I’ve got a 6 core CPU and 2 UAD quads.

Mike.

The audio driver will have a large influence on how well the system will perform. Realtek internal card being possibly the absolute worst choice.

ASIO performance and CPU utilisation are loosely associated, but a good ASIO driver and card will see significant improvements over realtek.

Try ASIO4ALL!