Creating Drum Pattern with sounds from Yamaha PSR-3000

I’m a beginner (and more of a musician than a tech person) and not even sure how to phrase my question, but I want to use a drum kit from my Yamaha PSR-3000. I like how I can create original from scratch drum loops on the PSR-3000 keyboard, and want to do the same thing in Cubase Elements 8, and have pulled my hair out trying to figure out how to do ‘from scratch’ drum beats in Cubase. I have a project where I’ve already recorded acoustic guitar, vocals, and set the tempo, and I’m trying to add drums after the fact. I tried recording the audio from the drum sounds from my Yamaha in a loop, but my timing is slightly off and I can’t figure out how to Quantize it properly. Should I try to Quantize the Audio that I play from the Yamaha, or is there a way to get those midi drum sounds (or the drumkit) off the Yamaha into Cubase, where it could be more easily Quantized?

By the way, I’ve experimented a little with drum sounds in Groove Agent SE, but I don’t like any of the snares. I still want to use sounds from the studio kit 1 from the Yamaha PSR-3000.

Please report your computer and CB software specs… it would help. :wink:

So it sounds like you have successfully connected your PSR3000 to the computer and CB has recognized it. If this is not right please check the PSR 3000 operation manual (page 194) for instructions for how to connect it using a midi to USB cable. If you have a PC (not Mac) you have to make sure to connect the keyboard to the PC, turn on the keyboard, then start Cubase (on a PC if you start Cubase first, it will not recognize it). Read that manual carefully. Most PSRs (and other keyboards) have a “Local On or Off” function that must be set. When set to “On” Cubase will use the midi data and tones (sounds) from your keyboard. When set to “Off” Cubase will record the midi data but you have to chose a VST instrument and sound that is loaded in Cubase.