Crossfades across tracks

Hi. I’m new to Nuendo coming from Protools. So far, so good. The tools are great.

I am doing a dialog edit. Crossfades work on the same track by selecting across the cut and hitting ‘x.’ I was able to edit the characteristics in the Crossfade editor and set that as default. Excellent.

In PT I could select the end of an event on one track and the beginning of an event on the track below, hit the hot key and it would do that cross fade across tracks. In Nuendo, I can’t do that.

I noticed that it specifies in the manual that the events must overlap and be on the same track so if it’s not possible has anyone come up with a viable work-around or perhaps can suggest something? Right now, I’m using the handle on the event, double-clicking to edit the curve and hitting apply, then doing the same on the event below.

Thanks in advance

This is a great feature request for Cubase and Nuendo.

Both these programs desperately need to add as many of these micro-time-savers as possible to compete in the professional editing world… If your software saves film production costs - they - will - use your software.

I suppose you could possibly see if you could create a macro for it. Not sure what steps to go through, but there are quite a few things that don’t seem obvious at first that one can get around using macros.

Don’t think so, I’m the Macro PLE master and I can’t think of how this could be accomplished.

Maybe using ‘locate next event’ combined with the cursor and fade to cursor, getting the proper event selection would be difficult though

Select both events and tracks (if ‘Track Selection follows Event Selection’ is on, the tracks will already be selected)

Macro:
-Locate Selection Start
-Locate Next Event
-Fade Out To Cursor
-Locate Next Event
-Select Events Under Cursor
-Remove Fades
-Fade Into Cursor
-Locate Previous Event

edit

Thanks for bringing up this great Feature Request…I really think this is a big omission in Nuendo.

@ Lovegames: