Cubase 10.5.12 wav file after mixdown sounds different

I’ve found a few threads talking about this issue, and went through all the possible solutins I found - none of it has helped me so far so I, a lurker, finally signed up on here to seek help :slight_smile:

I’m gonna give you all the information that seemed people needed in previous threads about this problem, so here we go:

When I do a wav mixdown of my voiceover + music the voice gets all muddy with loads of base and all the lovely clarity gets lost. Played it back on my computer and phone - same result. However, when I import the wav.-files back into the project, they sound as lovely as they did before I exported them. Super confusing.

I’m fairly new to cubase. I use it mostly to record voice overs and mix them with soundscape. All fairly simple stuff. I use a Zoom H4n that I plug in via USB to record from my Neumann TLM 102. Really apart from my mic and cubase I’m just using stuff I already had and generally use in different things. It’s all as budget as possible for now.
Cubase 10.5.12 Build 123
Win 10 - Speaker properties: It’s set to 24bit, 44100 Hz (tried to change this around a bit, didn’t change the problem)
I attached a lot of screencaps to show my settings. I’m gonna be honest, most of those I don’t really understand what exactly they do. But from what I understand there’s a posiblity it has to do with the bitrate? That’s why I tried out exporting it in different bitrates, too. No difference, still weird sounding export outside of cubase.

I’ve tried using the UV22HR dither and chose 16bit there, too in case something’s wrong with the bitrate, no change.
The only stuff I’m using is quite literally the volume and the built in EQ and the StudioEQ. No third party things whatsoever.

I tried using EQ only/StudioEQ only, none at all (still sounded different!), heck I tried both together. No change so it can’t be those causing the problem I guess?