Cubase 12: suddenly cannot play audio files (but synths work)

HI everybody,
I am not very familiar with the forums here, so I would like to apologize in advance if having posted the same question in German language in the German section might represent some sort of violation of forum rules. In that case please let me know, so I will immediatedly delete one of these posts.

That being out of the way: I am a new Cubase 12 pro user since last year. Before that I have been working with Cakewalk Sonar for almost two decades.

So, here’s the deal: Two days ago I suddenly realized that Cubase does not play any sounds from audio tracks anymore. I see the waveforms in the audiotracks, but the meters are dead, no elevation, no signal, while the cursor is moving forward (“play”) through the audio track.
These are normal Cubase project files that used to work properly before.
Even if create a new project from scratch and import an audio file, noting happens: I prpess play, the cursor moves, but all meters are dead silent.

However: When I create a synth track inside a Cubase project and load a synth or sampler such as Sampletaqnk4, and when I play the MIDI keyboard, I can hear the synth playing, there is normal audio signal.
So, iCubase plays audio from synths but not from audio tracks.
I went through all the settings (studio --auiconenctions…) and there is the correct audio device and the corrct in and outputs selected. In the audio properties menu, the right device is selected and all settings seem to be correct.

I hvae now watched a double digit number of youtube videos that deal with all sorts of audio problems in cubase but so far, I couldn’t find a solution.
And when I close Cubase and open the same audio files (that Cubase didn’t want to play) with a different stand alone audio editor such as RX10, they play normally and sound just as expected.
So, apparently, it’s not the sound device’s fault…