Cubase 4 license needed

Hi there,
I am new to audio recording, and am creating a budget setup. I have an older Power Mac G5 running OS X 10.5.8 (PowerPC 970 processor), on which I believe Cubase 4 would be compatible. I found a link somewhere on http://www.steinberg.net to download Cubase 4, but receive an eLicenser error when attempting to run the program. I’d like to purchase or obtain an eLicense to run Cubase 4.

I read elsewhere in the forum that older versions may run using the newest Cubase 9.5 license. There are three versions of Cubase 9.5 available; is it possible to run this legacy software using a license from the elements version? Is there perhaps someone else in the forum who would be willing to sell or transfer me a license for Cubase 4? I don’t only have money to offer: I can screen print and roast coffee :wink: (but I probably can’t ship coffee outside the USA). See Ancient Organism Coffee for a sample of my work. Let’s make a deal!

No, you need a Pro license to run Cubase 4

Please don’t waste your time with old hardware. You’re going to suffer, not to mention that Cubase 4 is harder and slower to use than Cubase 9.5.

I recommend getting a newer medium-tier desktop computer and using Cubase Elements 9.5 for the time being. Cubase 9.5 has better stock content than Cubase 4. Cubase Elements is missing a few plugins like the 2 excellent synthesizers and a very good reverb that are included with Cubase Artist 9.5 and higher, but it should be more than enough for your first year of making music.

You can upgrade to Cubase Artist or Cubase Pro later if you feel like, and you’ll actually receive a discount if you upgrade after Cubase 10 comes out.

You’ll probably need an audio interface if you plan to record at decent quality and low latency. The Steinberg UR interfaces come with Cubase AI for free, which might also be good enough for now, and it can be upgraded to another version, giving you a $50 discount.