Cubase 5 alternate tunings? Lydian, Aeolian?

Steinbergers,

Years ago I would toy with alternative tunings on my acoustic guitar, most were my own creations intended to devise more melodic compositions etc… Question: In Cubase 5 is there a system setting somewhere that controls the global tuning of the program? If not, are there work-arounds? Is there software available to perform the task? Any thoughts appreciated.

Nuclear1

What exactly is the Task?

Cubase is an audio/midi ‘recording’ software and is in itself totally oblivious to your tuning or chosen mode.
Exactly what aspect of Cubase are we dealing with here - Score? Tuner plugin? Variaudio or pitch correction?

I want my Midi keys to represent something different/other than the standard 12 note values/intervals… I’m not a trained musician so my language here is probably vague and possibly I’m phrasing this entirely wrong -you get my drift? I want to be able to choose those note values or use a pre-determined tuning (preset).

Many Thanks-

Nuclear1

Ah, now I get you, you’re talking about microtuning and such.
As I mentioned before, this has nothing to do with Cubase as it is a function of the instrument in question.

Luckily, there is a plugin included with Cubase (5 and higher) called Micro Tuner which allows you to do this for your MIDI keyboard input.

That sounds great. CNet has something for Mac, know of anything for Windows?

You’ve lost me again :confused:
Cubase 5 or higher comes with Micro Tuner. This works on both PC and Mac platforms.

Okay great. Sorry. I’ve never run across it or seen the term, I will look for it.

thnx!

Aloha and +1

I use to (try and) use it.
Without much success I must say.

But now days with C7, I am really getting into Hermode tuning.
Not the same thing but very interesting.

{‘-’}

BTW
Lydian, Aeolian etc AFAIK are ‘modes’. Not tunings.