Cubase 5 I can hear the metronome in my recording

I’m a newbie at cubase but I have this weird issue, when recording guitar, the metronome also records (I can literally hear the metronome in my recording when the guitar stops lol), how is that even possible? :open_mouth: I’m using cubase 5 with a lexicon usb sound card, on windows 7. Haven’t found any working solutions yet, could you guys help me out? :blush:

Have you tried turning off the metronome during playback or during your exporting process?

Regards :sunglasses:

Hey! First of all thanks for your reply! Of course the metronome is off during the playback (I’m not that newbie tho :smiley: ) You can just barely hear it in the background but pretty annoying! Must be something with the metronome settings I guess?

Well you never know how new a newbie is until you start a conversation. :wink:

I don’t see anything wrong with your setup but, I can tell you a few experiences that I have had when my metronome was recorded at a very low volume.

1 - While recording my acoustic guitar (or vocals) using a mic the metronome sound leaked past my headphones and was picked up by the microphone which recorded a very low volume metronome sound heard during playback. I fixed this by purchasing a new set of headphones that isolated the sound better.

2 - While recording my electric guitar the metronome was recorded through the guitar pickups. Same fix as above (I now also use the lowest volume necessary to hear the metronome) but I also notice that my guitar pickups will record voices and such if the voices are loud enough. This is most noticeable at the end of a guitar take when the last chord or note is trailing off and I or someone starts talking too soon during that trailoff. That can spoil a good guitar take.

That’s all I got for ideas. Hopefully others will chime in with a few more. Good luck.

Regards. :sunglasses:

Well indeed… :sunglasses: