Cubase 5 - Old software vs. newer computer

Hello,

Ive been useing Cubase 5 since 2010. For me is enough and i dont want to upgrade to newer DAW. As VST i`m useing: Waves 7, Fab-Filter, Izotope 5.

When i had an old generetion of computer (32-biti, Dual-core, 2 Gb DDR2 etc.), didnt have any crushes or problems. Since ive got a more leveled up computer (64-biti, Qadro-core xenon, 8 GB DDR3 etc.), problems started. Sometimes cubase didn`t recognize sound card, espacially when i imported old project from the old computer, or crashes. But espacielly: cubase stop for few second and then continues playing. And happends on and on every 30 seconds.

QUESTIONS:

Should I try an 32-bit version of Windows?
Should I buy a 2010 configuration PC? So PC and software to be at the same age? :laughing:

P.S 1: I use an E-MU 0404 USB and Focusrite Scarlet 2i4 USB. The same problem with both soundcards pluged.
P.S 2: Sorry if my english is not perfectly corect. :blush:

God Bless!

Which version of Windows are you using? And which version was the old system?

Windows 7 on both. From the same DVD.

So you used to run the 32 bit version of Win7 but now you’re running the 64bit version?

You can’t use any 32bit plugins. You can if you want to with additional software. Then there’s another layer of processing, much better having a 64bit machine with 64bit plugs.

Make sure that you have the latest driver for your soundcard.

Make sure this is a clean machine, best if this is a dedicated machine.
But don’t let programs do whatever they want. Control what runs.
You’re using the audio system and computer at it’s limits just to have a DAW with a lot of processing going.
No room for the computer to be checking for updates for some program right when you’re recording something.

Ive been useing Cubase 5 since 2010. For me is enough and i dont want to upgrade.<<

They have come up with a lot of new ways to do things that make life easier in a home studio setting, DAW’s are amazing now.