Cubase Advanced Requests

I’m a producer, songwriter, mixing engineer and artist (and software programmer certified in java and another technologies) and all the time I write down some requirements and features that are important to my workflow and I think it will be the same for many others. The truth is that I use Cubase in an advanced way and I have tested the limits of the software.

In this post I will be progressively adding everything that I will find within my needs.

Phase A - 2023-01-09

A.1 - I usually create an audio track that as input records/prints the entire route of sending to my sum groups to do STEMS and thus disable the child audios. Is there a way to create a track to print, directly? That the track channel can be right-clicked and it generates offline audio (a kind of render-in-place for groups) from the group.

A.2 - It is important to be able to disable groups, I understand that sometimes they have child tracks that the groups use, it is important to be able to disable them to free up resources, especially if the audio track has already been printed.

A.3 - create some kind of special folder (like a “space” folder type), that allows you to disable all channels in that folder, so you can use it to have for example “pre-production space”, “production space”, “record space”, “mix space”, “analog sum space”, “master space”. The objective is to be able to work on different work phases but with the possibility of going back to the previous aspects if something has not turned out as the client or the song requires it, without the need to change the software or session.

A.4 - Possibility of turning a mono track into a stereo track. Sometimes I’m wrong or at the time I thought the track was necessary in mono but then I need to convert it to stereo to be able to work the opening of the image in the mix.