Cubase and filmscoring.

Hello, is anybody here using Cubase 6 for filmscoring? I have various documentary/film projects to score in the future, and am wondering if I should upgrade to Cubase 6 (I currently have Cubase Essential 5) or get some other software that might be better suited. What do you think?

Here I’m thinking specifically of syncing picture and sound. Does cubase have a good and precise “Media Player” for syncing?

This is one of the purposes I use Cubase to do. I find that it works solidly. I am only familiar with Cubase 6 (full version) as to how well it works for this purpose. But I use it regularly for scoring.

Jay

Thank you so much, Jay. That is very reassuring. :slight_smile:

I’ve never scored in anything else and don’t want to. On my last project I was wishing I could render video edits in C6 too as everything else was so easy to do.

Don´t know how many films I scored with Cubase. I make my living out of it and use it for post production and the final audio mix of the film. Keep in mind that you will most likely deliver in 48 KHz. Recommended video-codec to work with, unless you have a dedicated card like black magic or aja, is Quicktime Photo-Jpeg (quality set to 75 %). You can for example use quicktime pro to convert the film you get.
Good luck!

I too use Cubase for film scoring–works great. Video is on a second machine (Sony Vegas as an MTC slave) along with Finale.

I work as an engineer for a film composer. Cubase is great for scoring although some annoying elements its lacking are:

• No ability to drag audio clips around while having the video follow you. Makes respotting and moving files to frame accurate positions frustrating.

• No direct quicktime export (apparently you have to buy Nuendo). The silly link audio with video feature or whatever its called doesnt cut it.

• Mediabay has some issues and is generally clunky IMO compared to other hosts drag and drop simplicity.