Cubase lags in macOS support every single year, we need much better moving forward

Hey,
Firstly, I wanna say I love Cubase, I’ve been using it for over 10 years. Best DAW.

But every year I’m disappointed with the lack of support for new yearly releases of macOS and now with M1 it’s the same thing. This is inexcusable.

Apple does everything it can to provide developers with adequate time to test/update their apps in time for the new OS release. Usually 5 months, Big Sur beta came out in early June and released on November 12, 2020.

They also are very open to collaborating with large developers on getting their apps up to speed. I’ve even seen then rollback minor changes to updates that directly effected essential parts of dev’s apps. This is not always the case but the lack of communication coming from Steinberg we don’t even know if Cubase or other DAW’s have dev reps at Apple that they collaborate with on audio/music changes. With Apple wanting to appeal to Pro users so much this should be the case.

Other Mac apps update to the new OS with no problem and they cost way less than Cubase and are just as complicated. Affinity Photo is an example of a large app that usually does this successfully on day 1 of new MacOS releases.

Apple has a developer beta program for this very reason.

There’s no reason why we should be choosing between:

• The security updates
  • Major privacy improvements
  • Enjoyment of better quality of life improvements
  • Compatibility with other devices
  • New features

Because an expensive DAW app doesn’t have day 1 (or even month 1 would do) support of a new operating system.

For example with the M1, they were given even more time. Apple last year released Dev Kit’s with Apple Silicon chips in June, and it’s been over 14 months and Cubase still doesn’t natively support Apple Silicon.