Cubase LE AI Elements 12: sound issues and sound driver issues

Hello,

I’m entirely new to Cubase, I only just purchased it yesterday, and I have little to no knowledge about sound drivers and Cubase.

When I start Cubase and open a new project, I experience the following issues:

1. As soon as it’s open, I cannot play any other audio on my PC. If I play audio on the internet or directly in a media player, I hear absolutely nothing anymore. Closing Cubase usually makes the sound come back, and one time I had to open another audio volume app, before the sound came back again. How to I avoid that?

2. I cannot set up my audio connections properly.
    When I open the audio connection settings (for example by clicking on the Audio Input, or Audio Output label, then I can set the Audio Output:
    I selected the “Generic Low Latency ASIO Driver” (only available option), and the Device Port “Lautsprecher (Realtek (R) Aud 1” appeared, so I assume it worked?
    I’m not sure, since all my other sounds are blocked, and I wasn’t able to produce any sounds in Cubase yet.

However, when I try to set the Audio Input:
When selecting the same “Generic Low Latency ASIO Driver”, absolutely nothing happens. So I have no audio input and cannot record anything.

71e1b95661450e9c0c1b5c8297ad0033

How can I fix all those bugs?
I did not find any comprehensive and good tutorials and any information on the topic.

What audio interface are you using? You need to make sure that’s selected rather than using the generic low latency driver. Go to your interface manufacturers website and download the latest drivers. if you have issues with the latest drivers try older ones. To locate drivers, open google and search “make and model name drivers” and go to the official website & follow the instructions.

in windows

Also make sure you have the correct audio output set in windows.