Cubase Pauses or Freezes

Hey
I’ve got the problem that Cubase either Freezes after some time or it just pauses the track randomly and then it is unable to let it play again. The play button turns green though but no music is playing. After some time it starts playing again and when it freezes i just restart it. It would be maybe good to add that all that started when i installed some VST Plugins to my Cubase and recently some bigger ones. Does it maybe come from the low power of my pc?

Appreciate the Help.

It comes from the plugins…

Sounds like your computer has run out of steam. What are its specs? If it’s a pc have you optimised it for audio? Do you have the steinberg power plan enabled? What are your audio buffers set to?

That could give a hint indeed…

Im using a laptop with a Intel Core I5-4200U CPU and 8GB installed storage
I dont know what the steinberg power plan is neither do i know where to find the settings for the audio buffers. Im a newbie in all of this :slight_smile: Still appreciate the response.

What are the plugins you are using. Can you get decent performance with the stock plugins?
Do a search for optimising a pc for audio. With a laptop you definitely need a power plan that keeps the cpu at 100%. In windows just search power plan and see what is being used. Also Cubase can be made to change the power plan. This is in studio setup. I’m not in front of my pc but it’s not hard to find.

I bought me Antares Unlimited so cant dispense that. I did almost everything on this list (you will find it if you google: 20-ways-to-optimize-your-windows-10-pc-for-music-production )
but still the problem exist. It even got worse. I found the power plan of my pc and turned it to high performance (also was included in the list) but cant find what you mean with cubase can be changed to that

ok… again… uninstall plugin by plugin until the problem is gone…
you mentioned that it started after you installed plugins…