Cubase Pro 8 installs to C drive despite other setting

Hi,

I’m new to Cubase and after being granted a licence to Cubase 8 as part of the grace period, I just tried installing Cubase Pro 8 to my PC (Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit) from the download link provided on theSteinberg site. Note that I had not previously installed Cubase 7.5 to this PC.

As I only have 12GB free space on my C: drive (where Windows 7 is installed) I specified an alternate drive (D:) with more than enough space and created and browsed to the "D:Steinberg\Cubase" sub-directory for the install. Unfortunately, although about 512MB of the install goes to the specified D: drive sub-directory, the majority of the install instead fills up the C: drive and runs out of space with an error message that it cannot install! I haven’t yet been able to locate where all of these files have been stored on the C: drive but the install was the only thing I did so that must have caused it to fill up.

Thinking I may have made a mistake I uninstalled all the Steinberg programs again, emptied the recycle bin and checked the free space and re-tried the install to the specified folder on the D: drive with the same result. I’ve attached a copy of the Windows list of installed Steinberg products to show what was installed. Unfortunately it doesn’t show the install location.

It appears that almost all (but not quite as I received an error message during the install indicating lack of space on the C: drive) of the software was installed but I’m not satisfied as now I have no space on my C: drive. I expected that the software would mainly install at the location specified (with the exception of the shortcuts), not >90% of it to the C: drive. This therefore appears to be a bug in the installer.

Please help :cry:

Thanks!!