Cubase quit unexpectedly

Hello, I am new to cubase. I recently purchased a new macbook pro.
here are the specs-----Apple® - MacBook® Pro - Intel Core i5 - 13.3" Display - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive

I also upgraded the macbook with 8g of ram the day I bought it.

Now, the only thing that i have installed on it so far was Cubase Artist 7.
I followed the instructions step by step during the installation process.
It’s been 2 days since I’ve been learning how to use it.
But, today i opened up an electro project and i decided to record
using the electronic instruments that cubase provided. after awhile of recording,
I got a message saying cubase closed unexpectedly. Now, this is the first
time it happened but i thought i’d try to get to the bottom of it asap just
in case it ever happens again. I’m basically trying to figure out why cubase
unexpectedly quit while i was working on stuff. please help! :frowning:

What version and build of Cubase Artist 7 do you have installed (Cubase menu, About)? What is your audio interface? What is your MIDI interface? Thank you.

The dialog informing you that the application has “unexpectedly quit” is generated by OSX to inform you that the application (in this case, Cubase) has suffered a fatal crash.

This can have many causes. Often it is simply caused by some program glitch. These are very hard to track down because they are generally not repeatable. With software that use plug-ins, these are more than often the cause of the problems. For example Cubase (v7.5 in particular) has a nasty habit of “unexpectedly quitting” when plug-in are removed in the MixConsole. Here is a discussion about this subject: