CUBASE Squasher Failing Basic Null Test; How can it be used on parallel buss?

Hi
After finding issues with filters etc I decided to test other aspects; Firstly, if I have somehow missed something basic here, I humbly apologise but here is something that needs explanation

I take 2 tracks, they are simply an original and a duplicate except the first track is inverted phase
The second track has an instance of squasher inserted
Squasher has all band turned off ie plugin should be applying nothing
Play 2 tracks and toggle bypass on Squasher
WHY does the track null fine with Squaser off BUT with Squasher on and nothing applied there is obviously a problem??

There is something going on which is why using a normal mult track with parallel compression sound like @#$%^

Cheers

Can confirm, signal doesn’t null when bands are disabled.

Not that I’m an expert on audio analysis, but after doing Export Audio Mixdowns of one track with an all bands disabled Squasher, and one track with no Squasher and comparing them with DeltaWave it reported phase difference and showed roughly a -3 dB drop across the whole frequency spectrum until roughly 20 kHz (the exact differences vary on the audio track being tested):

• Gain= 2.8387dB (1.3865x) DC=-0.00434 Phase offset=-1.111111ms (-49 samples)
    Difference (rms) = -24.81dB [-26.7dBA]
    Correlated Null Depth=22.53dB [25.67dBA]
  • Phase difference (full bandwidth): 95.2904488841868°
    0-10kHz: 104.45°
    0-20kHz: 98.66°
    0-24kHz: 95.29°

Engaged plugins can alter the sound…
That’s why the bypass button is there.

Im not sure you understand…so that was before I compared the bands for crossover. Engaged plugins should alter the sound but not when all the functions are turned off internally. So taking that further, the crossovers are as muddy as…so this means you cannot use them in standard New York style Mult/Parallel without introducing real issues…