Cubase vs FL Studio, Ryzen, ASIO Guard, latency

Hi folks :slight_smile: My name is Iskander Gafarov, I’m from Russia, so my English can be kinda bad, pls, don’t judge me too much :smiley: My old PC based on AMD FX started to be not enough for my music writing needs, so recently I’ve got an upgrade to new computer:

• CPU AMD Ryzen 7 1700 with stock cooler, running at 3.75ghz;
  • MB ASUS ROG Strix Gaming B350-f;
  • RAM Geil EVO X 16gb running at 3000 mHz;
  • SSD Samsung 860 EVO 500 gb;
  • Audio interface RME Babyface Pro.
    Currently I’m using Cubase 9.5.30 Pro as well as FL Studio 20, OS - Win10. Since I’m kinda experienced piano player, my usage of MIDI-controller (Novation SL mk2 49) is extensive and I like recording scores for VSTi via MIDI using 128 and 256 samples buffer size settings. Furthermore, sometimes I’m playing my electric guitar using Guitar Rig 5 (I’m not too good at this tho), so 128 is even more interesting for me.

So after upgrade all of my old projects in FL Studio are running extremely smoothly and with much more CPU power available than ever, even with 128 ASIO buffer latency, absolutely rock solid, especially after last FL Studio update.

In Cubase 9.5.30, however, something strange is happening. With ASIO Guard at normal settings and 128 latency everything runs absolutely well, like in FL Studio, or even better. But with ASIO Guard OFF and 128 buffer Cubase is capable of handling something like 5 Kontakts, 2-3 Spires, 2 Omnispheres, pack of FabFilters in whole project with Pro-L on master FX insert and ton of samples, which is actually not bad at all for me, but is still far away from FL Studio’s result, loading more VSTis than that is causing dropouts, while CPU resources are consumed only by 30%. Increasing ASIO buffer size helps accordingly to its size, but latency while playing guitar with NI Guitar Rig becomes much more noticeable as well as while playing VSTi using MIDI.