Damn eLicenser... how "safe" is a Hub in a live situation?

Hi!

I just purchased the UR824 for live usage.

I am a drummer, having a MacBookPro beside me running Cubase - currently only with clicktrack and a playback (keys, add ons etc) - but with that UR824 I want to set up an in ear monitoring situation etc…

So there is no Midi port on the UR824 - I do not know why - this is the flagship interface and a Midiport comes even in the low budget interfaces… BUT no problem - I just have to hook up a small and simple USB - Midi interface as well.

But the Macbook only has 2 USB ports… damn Apple. And I have to connect the eLicenser as well… damn eLicenser!

Of course a HUB is the solution. But I am in a live scenario. There is heavy metal going on on the drumriser, sweat, blood and vibrations etc… I really do not like the idea to have ANOTHER pice of cable-connector-sh*t beside me…

What to do?

Installing a Cubase version which does not need an USB licenser? The LE version? Well I am owning Nuendo and 2 x Cubase 8 - I do not want to buy ANOTHER Cubase license.

Or is a bus powered USB hub just fine for connecting the Licenser and the Midi Interface? The UR824 I better connect directly…

Doesn’t UR include Cubase AI license?

Mh, I purchased that bundle - UR & full Cubase - it was a “returned unit” so it was a very good deal… maybe there is that AI version included as well … I hope! because it would be fine for live… using full version for beeing creative, just playbacking the stuff with AI…

I managed to keep mine alive by ducktaping it to the hub. It broke a couple of times, so I had to “repair”. It probably still works, but Im building a new project studio now and got a New one. The stuff that I dragged with me to various dirty venues over the last decade have been put in a bin, exept that eLicenser, lol. Don’t have a picture of the thing attached to the hub with alot of ductape, but thats how it looks ttoday after all the wear’n’tear.