DAW and suitable software

anyone know the price of getting cubase, as Im still quite new to Dorico pro3.5 …also does it work well with this and on a Mac? Primary wanted this for recording my scores and uploaded to you tube ect…

@simonpeter38 hello,
I hope you are doing well! :slight_smile:
Here is the Cubase versions comparison list, so could decide which one will fit your needs the best:

The prices are listed at the bottom. :slight_smile:

I’m a Cubase Pro user, but it is the most expensive of all.
You also need to know that still there is no direct way to transfer Dorico project into Cubase, but
the guys are working in that direction.
I do hope in the near future we will have even real-time bi-diretional synchronized transfer between Dorico and Cubase/Nuendo! :slight_smile: I really would like every inserted note, expression, or dynamic in Dorico to appear simultaneously in Cubase, and vice versa.
Currently the only two available ways are by export - import MIDI or MusicXML(into Cubase Score Editor - a very archaic, and probably the most terrible score editor I’ve ever touched)
Cubase works well on both PC and Mac, so nothing to worry about that.
Personally I recommend you to decide between Cubase Pro and Artist, Elements is too limited. But still I suppose that you may need some things that are part only of Cubase Pro.
You could wait for the Summer Sale when you can buy Cubase on 30% - 40% discount.

I hope this information is enough helpful for you! :slight_smile:

Best wishes,
Thurisaz

It’s worth pointing out that many people record audio directly from Dorico for use in videos and audio demos.

You can certainly do much more manual adjustment of sound libraries in a DAW like Cubase, but (depending on the sample library), you can get decent results directly from Dorico.

You might be better off spending money on a decent sample library.

Thankyou Thurisaz for your advice. yes probably wait until the sales great idea!

Hi Benwiggy,