DDP Player

I am trying to view my CD DDP files using the DDP Player 1.5 that came with WaveLab. I have an UR-824 audio device. But it seems that the Steinberg DDP player cannot set the Sample rate from 48 to 44.1. It is asking me to do it manually??? Why did I buy Steinberg hardware if this does not work out of the box? Sample rate is greyed out in the windows 10 driver, so I cannot use DDP right now.

Audio CD/DDP are always 44.1
if your audio device is set to 48 there has to be the sample rate
settings to change somewhere !? or try set 44.1 in other software
before using the DDP Player…

regards S-EH

Thank you for taking the time to respond.

Since I am an mastering engineer, I am well aware of what a CD is, thank you very much (; My question wasn’t related to the sample rate of DDP or CD images.

If you read my original post, you will also see that I cannot change the sample rate in my Windows 10 driver. That is the first point I was trying to make.

If you read my post carefully, you will also understand my second point: If I need to open another Steinberg software, just to get my sample rate on my UR 824 changed, then why does the DDP player (which is also Steinberg) not just automtically change the sample rate to begin with? The whole point of sending my clients a DDP player, is so that they DO NOT NEED third party software.

Why is that important? The DDP player is meant for clients who can check the CD image. I have Wavelab and Nuendo. I could get the sample rate on my device changed. But I don’t really need to check it myself, since I’m the one creating it the DDP image. The whole point of the DDP player is to make it easy for clients to open a DDP / CD image. If the Steinberg DDP Player in combination with a Steinberg / Yamaha audio device (UR824) isn’t capable of setting the correct sample rate, how the heck should my clients be able to do that?

Hope you get my two points now. If you have something reasonable to add please do.

Cheers