Deciding Dorico or?

Hi everybody (Daniel, I’m watching your tutorials, great job!)
I’m a Cubase pro user and I’m trying Dorico for a month, some things are amazing, I just started and maybe I should wait a little before posting but:

1. Playback is a nightmare, the cursor moves in a different place compared to the music played (I installed Halion and all the other stuff but the playback sucks)
  2. when I import a midi file created with Cubase, things like expression maps are left out (staccato etc, I must be doing something wrong)
  3. I’m a guitarist and teacher, I published 9 instructional books and spending all those money for a music software with no tab… mmmhhh.

I’ll add more while I try, hope feedback helps

By the way, a lot of the things are great!

guitarbaz,

1. Have you checked that the audio engine is set to 48, not 44.1?
  2. You need to export from Cubase as MusicXML, not MIDI.
  3. It’s on the development radar, but you’re right, no guitar tab yet.

Also, I believe Cubase Expression Maps must be specifically imported into Dorico separately from any MIDI file using the Expression Maps editor screen. Watch the video on Expression Maps.

Thank you both, I’ll check and let you know!
:slight_smile:

I think you’ll find the first two issues can be resolved easily. Guitar tab is something they’re starting to tackle. As with anything Dorico does, when they release it, it’ll be phenomenal.