Default paragraph styles not working (and some font selection complaints)

While working on one project, I set up my paragraph Title style like this, making it the default.

Then I exit Dorico completely. I restart it, create a totally new project, and immediately open the Paragraph Styles dialog. The style for Title is this:

OOPS! I’m not allowed to include a second screen shot. Maybe I can add one in the comments. This screen shot would show the same items except that the Font entry is disabled and says Adobe Caslon Pro (inherited from Default Text).

The font is disabled and incorrect. This style is still marked as a default style.

This looks like a bug to me, but being a newbie, I thought I would ask first.

I suspect the above bug might be related to the fact that I chose Adobe Caslon Pro as my default text font family under Edit / Preferences / General. I would expect this to override factory settings, but not my own font family overrides.

As long as I’m mentioning bugs, whoever designed the font selection tools created the most awkward selection mechanism I’ve ever seen in a professional product. But the selection mechanism in the Paragraph Styles dialog is leagues ahead of the one in the Preferences Dialog—that one fills my screen with dialog names, from “20th Century Font” to “Minion Pro SmBd”. Yes, that’s right, every font after Minion Pro is off screen and unselectable.

Most professional programs do two things that Dorico fails to do:

• Allow the user to type in a font name (not just use a character as a way to move to the first font starting with that letter).
  • If you display a menu, start with from the current font, not the first font (if I select Futura Bk and then want to try Future Hv, I don’t want to have to type “F” and then scroll back to where I was).

Most pro programs also provide a font sample. Right now, though, I’d be happy to just be able to have a default Title paragraph style that uses Americo BT.

Here is the missing screenshot.