delay compensation matters

Good morning from Greece to all of you Cubasers.
So many parameters with delay compensation that get me frustrated.
I have read the manual and i have searched the net a lot and found quite a few options to do.I have been using c5 for about 4 years and never payed the appropriate attention to the delay matters.So in my queries.
All the examples below were done for experimenting with the delay compensation subjects and not for an actual session,but they are similar to a familiar recording or mixing session.
First my setup:8 gb ram-i3 processor-korg pa50 midi keys-lexicon omega usb interface with asio buffers set to 10 ms-m audio bx5 monitors-and an extrernal 32 channel behringer mixer with 2 units of fx.
Case1:
i record a sample in an audio track.i create a dummy output in vst connections and make it the output of that sample track.i create a second audio track and set as input the dummy output so as to record the above sample.When record is done i found tha it was 150 samples later recorded than the above.I went to device setup and fixed it by inserting the 150 sampes difference,recorded again and it was ok.If all this process were done with stereo tracks instead of mono one channel of the new recording will be with phase inverted.If i the change the polarity to the input channel only one channel stays again with the normal phase and the is inverted again.
Question :why the phase is inverted and how not to be??How am i supposed to know the samples difference every time if i insert and plugins in the input channel or in the arm recording channel so as to track vocals with my familiar chain,so as to prevent those delays,cause when i inserted plugins the sample difference was greaterbutton