Delay issues with Amplitube in Cubase 7

I’m new to Cubase but things have been working good so far.
I was gonna lay down some guitar and loaded up Amplitube 3 as a vst plugin but I get a considerable delay, far more than my latency set for the interface (256, 7+7ms). When I click “Constrain delay compensation” Cubase disables the Amplitube plugin completely. If I play the guitar now, getting the raw unprocessed sound, I have perfectly normal delay (none noticable) so there’s something happening when use the darn plugin.

I tried Steinbergs amp sims and they produce the same amount of horrible delay. HOWEVER, when I click “constrain delay compensation” on Steinberg amp sim plugins, they stay enabled but sound simpler and get the expected latency. What the heck is going on here? Is this suppose to be normal?

I come from Logic and I’ve never had an issue running Amplitube with perfectly normal latency, what’s wrong?

ps: I tried disabling ASIO guard to no assist.

Scratch that. For some reason the connections for the controlroom had gone crazy. Everything still worked, but it had the effect of adding latency to these specific plugins (???). Weird.

Aloha t,

Glad you got it sorted. AmpT has been fine for me.
A main go-to plug. It would be tough to live without it.

I find VST Rack very nice for heavier stuff but
for a more delicate/detailed crunch, IMHO AmpT is the way to go.

Only guitar players will get this part.

The VST Rack and many other 3rd party plugs sound great.
(and I have tried them all)
However AmpT not only sounds real good
but like a real amp it also ‘feels’ good in your hand.

BTW
While I have all the newer versions, I still gravitate to version 1. :slight_smile:
—go figure.
{‘-’}