Delete Doubles Is -Still- Dodgy

I’ve been complaining about this for 10+ years.

There are 2 problems…

1. Where it really misses true duplicates. That -mostly- works now.

2. Where it is simply too picky. If the overlapping notes are off by even 1 tick… even though they are obviously the same length, pitch, etc., they are not considered duplicates. That’s crap.

Attached is a CPR with one MIDI track which demonstrates #2. Delete Doubles will not delete the duplicate notes because the start point of the overlaps is 1 tick off.

There should be a -window- where it ‘sees’ obvious overlaps like this and considers them duplicates. Since this is undoable, I see no harm in doing so.

I don’t consider this a ‘Feature Request’ because no -human- would ever consider the current functionality to be reasonable. There’s literally no way to detect these without inspecting EVERY note in List Editor (or auditioning EVERY note for phase issues.)
Synbass.zip (16.4 KB)

I would agree. it’s not just working if you use it for tidying up dodgy midi setups. What I cannot understand is that in my setup (midisport 4x4) that every midi input and output is listed twice, once as DirectMusic and once as Windows MIDI. (Any idea which ones to disable / prefer). It can also happen if I have more than one out channel enabled on my mp5 master keyboard.

That rears its head once in a while and creates duplicate nots, the only way I can currently delete them is by using the arrow cursor and then hit delete on every second note. Hardly a professional way of dealing with duplicates but of course the “delete duplicates” function does not deal with this at all.

I’ve noticed that delete double, and delete overlaps, both poly and mono, all don’t seem to work very well.