Dell Worries!

Hey All,

I’m a 15+ year vet of cubase, currently running 5.5.2 on my custom XP box. Runs with NO issues (obviously ram limitations)

On the other side of the room, my other webdesign computer died. I ordered a DELL Studio XPS 9100, i7 930, 2.8GHZ, 8gig RAM, Win 7 ultimate 64bit to replace.

I’m wondering if I should move Cubase to the Dell and use the XP box for my webdesign?

I’m nervous about moving and reloading all my music software when I’m not sure how this dell will perform.

I’ve always used Dell products for business but not for music.

Honest opinions from the form will be GREATLY aprreciated.

Thanks

Ron

With my limited experience, Cubase should be fine on your dell. If you need to use Firewire though (For your audio interface), you will need to make sure the Firewire in your dell is made my Texas Instruments (It probably isn’t). If it isn’t you should add a Texas Instruments Firewire card. It would be good to keep the Cubase software on your old machine while you install and test it out on your dell and see how things go.

You should be fine in theory, but don’t forget to check what upgrade possibilities you have on that PC. Dell make their own motherboards and don’t give you many options for installing expansion cards.
I have no experience with the Dell firewire drivers and chipsets so that you would have to try.

Just make sure you uninstall all the worthless junk they put on your PC as I find it slows your PC down right from the start already while you really have no reason to use any of the ‘maintenance’ software they provide.
Purely based on specs your new Dell should be awesome!

Hey guys.
Just the thread I needed to see.
I purchased the Dell XPS 8100 2 months ago and only had a week to experience its ability due to an unexpected financial reason. ( I returned it)

Now that I have no financial issues I am ready to purchase it again but, I want newest model. ( Dell XPS 9100).