Do I Buy Cubase or Carry On with Cakewalk?

Hi, I’m a Cubase newbie and I wondered if I could trouble the knowledgeable people here to give me a quick heads-up as to what Cubase can offer over and above the free-of-charge Cakewalk that I currently use.

Given that it’s 500 quid I’d expect there to be substantial advantages but, from what I’ve gleaned thus far, I’m not sure what they might be and whether it would be worth the cost for me.

I’m an amateur singer-songwriter-producer working at home on my own projects just for fun in my retirement years, should that be of any consequence.

Many thanks all.

Keith.

Hard to say, as there’s a number of things both DAW’s can do, offering different methods also.

If you’re looking at other DAWs, what is it that made you curious?

For singer songwriter, for me the main advantages would be variaudio for vocals (tuning system) and the chord track.

Using the chord track you can create music with the chord progressions listed above the timeline which gives your structure and helps plan out taking songs in different directions thanks to the additional chord selection features.

But furthermore, once you have that song structure in place you can then use Variaudio to not only correct vocal tunings, but individual notes are colour coded so that you can see where you’ve sang in tune, and where you’ve been out.

The beauty of this, is that you can move those notes and up and down the scale and try out new vocal phrasing which you may not have naturally thought of. When you have a correction or phrasing that sounds good, you can then play that back as a guide track into your headphones and record an ‘actual’ vocal take based on it.

There’s also harmony generators, so you can take a single vocal line and harmonise it out - again, you can adjust these with variaudio and use them as a guide track for new (more natural) vocal takes.