Do I need external plugins?

Hi everyone,

I’m new to music production and DAW in general. I invested in Cubase Pro 10.5 and very happy with it.
I am watching a lot of youtube tutorial about mixing and mastering, and wonder if I need to invest in a suite of plugins.
Don’t want to start a debate on plugins companies and who prefers Izotope or FabFilter, that’s another debate I’m sure you will agree.
Basically, I wonder how far you can get by using the stock plugins and tools that Cubase Pro offers?
Any suggestions and experience you guys have?
I guess we need to differentiate between mixing and mastering (I know Steinberg offers wavelabs for mastering, don’t plan to buy it for now).

No you don’t…you can do everything you need in the DAW, I recommend getting on with songwriting/producing and only buying a 3rd party plugin when you find you cannot move forward with your writing/producing…which I think is unlikely…

I agree with what shadowfax replied. Is 100% what I did.

Concerning your thoughts about sound and quality of plugins - I guarantee you that unless you are going direction “pro” what you do musically (songwriting, arranging, etc.) will be THE determining factor of your production quality! The quality of the included plugins is absolutely sufficient.

Save your money for later - and for targeted investments.

You mean 3rd party plugins (which is different from “external plugins” especially with Cubase Pro). Depends - there are certainly some plugins out there, that do things, you can´t do with the stock plugins. But basically all the standard “bread and butter” tasks can easily be handled with the stock plugins.

Even though I have thousand of dollars invested in 3rd party plugins, I could record and produce a “pro” product easily with just Cubase alone. The quality of Cubase plugins has evolved tremendously.

I also agree that Cubase covers almost all of the basic tasks, though as I have a choice, I do use a lot of third party, Softube especially.