Dorico 3.5 Pro Harp sound?

Am I correct in missing a sound for harp in Dorico 3.5 Pro (Halion Sonic SE)? The program seems to take the sound of an acoustic guitar by default, there’s no harp in the instrument list. Or didn’t I install correctly? Thanks!

1 Like

Well, HSO sounds are… what they are. Many fellow Doricians here use NotePerformer, and for Harp, I like to use the Pianoteq sound. I think you’re right, there’s no real harp sound provided (IIRC).

@MarcLarcher : Thanks you Marc, good to know. Although I find it strange that a program like Dorico doesn’t provide a decent harp. Would you know if and how I could use the Finale sound bank in Dorico (mind you, I’m not an expert on software sounds, though)?

Provided there’s a vst3 or vst2 (but then you probably will have to add it in the whitelist in Preferences>Playback) for that library, Dorico should be able to use it. Look up for expression maps in the forum, Paul Walmsley has made a thread with a whole bunch of Expression maps for different libraries, yours might be there already. The Expression map is the interface between a library and Dorico, it should be set once you have loaded the library in Play mode (right panel), when you click on the cog next to your library name.

The Garritan/Aria player used in Finale comes in multiple variants (for 64-bit, which is now the standard):

The Multi version allows one to assign a different output for each instrument slot.
The Standard player, and a VST3 player not shown here, combine all instrument slots and send them to the Dorico Mixer in channels 1 & 2.

To make the VST2 players available to the VST pull-down list in Play, one needs to give Dorico their location (path) and put them in the Allowed list in the Edit > Preferences > VST Plugins panel.

@Derrek: Thanks for your reply. I see both ARIA players (VST and Multi) in my ‘allowed’ list. How can I make Dorico use these sounds?

Check out this video for the basic procedure.