Dorico 3 elements and beam grouping

I bought Dorico 3 Elements as I’m not a professional and only play/compose music as a hobby.

I am creating my first score and I have 6 8th notes in my bar. By default, Dorico groups all these notes together but I want to group them 2 by 2.
The documentation even states that when using 3/4 it will group by quarter notes by default however when I’m using 3/4, it groups the entire bar together instead of grouping by quarter note. Here’s the documentation explaining it: https://steinberg.help/dorico_elements/v3/en/dorico/topics/notation_reference/notation_reference_beaming_according_to_time_signature_c.html

It also says that you can set a custom time signature to specify how to group beams so because my time signature is in 3/4 and I want to group every quarter note, I should be able to use [1+1+1]/4 but that also doesn’t seem to work…

Is this a bug or am I missing something obvious?

Hi Yannick82!
Is your project built from scratch in Dorico or is it an xml import? In the latter case, select all, Edit> Beams>Reset beaming

It’s from scratch. No importing

I’m afraid the documentation is mistaken in this regard: a bar of 3/4 consisting only of eighth notes will have a single beam group. Because you can’t edit Notation Options in Dorico Elements you can’t change this default behaviour easily, and because [1+1+1]/4 is actually the same as 3/4, it doesn’t change this. It would be a total bore to split every beam group by hand, I’m sure. If you wanted to attach your project here, I would happily change the beam grouping option for you in Notation Options using Dorico Pro and then re-attach it for you.

Ok so it isn’t possible… That’s a pitty. Initially I thought it was a limitation of elements but when seeing the documentation, I got my hopes up…

Anyway, I’ll do it manually. Don’t worry about it. There’s also a lot of copy/pasting. The score has a total of 32 bars so not that big and with some copy/pasting it’s alright I guess…