Dorico as a composition tool

I’ve been using Dorico for about a year now, and I’d like to offer some thoughts about Dorico from my perspective. I’m an amateur composer, writing in classical tonal harmony styles from 1600 to 1900 for solo instruments, voice, ensembles and small orchestra. I produce pieces for local amateur players and singers. (I’m not interested in film or video composing, and I’m the kind of fellow who reads and writes dots on a page rather than using a piano roll in a DAW.)

I want notation software that helps me through the composition process, that has a good notation editor, that can produce good quality scores, and from which I can create a demo that’s good enough to share with amateur musicians. So I need a bit of mixing and mastering capability, but nothing too fancy – I will never see the inside of Abbey Road.

In many respects, Dorico measures up, and I plan to continue using it. Bits that are particularly good include the notation editor, playback options and templates, and expression maps. However, I think Dorico could be improved for my purposes. Specifically:

Fermatas, turns, mordents and other ornaments are not rendered. (Especially annoying having to manually adjust tempo for fermatas.)

Would be really nice to have some composer aids, particularly a tool that could review musical grammar against basic voice leading and counterpoint rules (e.g., by flagging parallel 5ths and octaves, voice crossing, voice distance too large, no contrary motion, doubled leading note, etc, etc).

Dynamics using the key editor is weak. D4 has actually regressed from D3.5 in that there’s no separate dynamics lane. There’s a bug causing drop-outs or complete absences of dynamics when they are rendered to CCs. Also, when dynamics are changed in the score, they’re not immediately reflected in the CC lanes. So although I may have set up expression maps, I don’t have confidence that the instruments will actually receive the dynamics as I intend.