Dorico First steps guide published (Update: Translations now available)

Good evening,

It’s after 5pm here in the UK, which means it’s the perfect time for us to publish some new documentation. Except, it’s not exactly “documentation” in the traditional sense.

As hinted here before, and explicitly mentioned a few weeks ago when we asked for volunteers to give it a test drive, we’ve been working on a revamped “first steps” introduction to Dorico that’s aimed at total beginner users, to help them get a feel for how Dorico works by working through a piece of music. There used to be a chapter at the start of the manual with this name, but it was rather short and on reflection, we decided it would be best to remove it from the manual entirely and create a separate guide specifically for this purpose.

This we have now done, with heartfelt thanks to the users who responded to our call for testers and gave us some really insightful, precise, and very useful feedback.

EDIT July 2021: Translations of the First Steps guide are now available! Auf Deutsch, en Français, in Italiano, and 日本語で.

You can find all the First Steps resources here, and also on the landing page for each 3.5 product version as well. On that page, you will find:

• The guide itself, as PDF and webhelp versions
  • A Zip file called “Piano Piece Resources”, containing a PDF of the piano piece for reference and a Dorico project of the completed, but not yet formatted, piano piece - suitable for starting the “Laying out and formatting pages” chapter from
  • A Zip file called “Blues Song Resources”, containing a PDF of the blues song excerpt and a Dorico project set up for you to start the “Further notations” chapter from

I really hope this is a beneficial addition to the available Dorico learning resources. Any ongoing feedback you have is always welcome.

Best wishes,
Lillie

15 Likes