Dorico not playing percussion sounds

HI everyone. I am new at Dorico, and I record sounds into percussion tracks and some of them don’t play back, like there’s not enough voices, or something. (longer sounds, like cymbals and rainstick) Only with percussion, everything else sounds fine. Any ideas? Thanks!

Have you tried resetting the Playback Template?

I did, Daniel, thanks for that. It didn’t work, unfortunately.

Are these all HALion sounds–or NotePerformer sounds?
Knowing what sound set you are using would be helpful, as would knowing what computer Operating System and version of Dorico you are using.

Could you post a Diagnostic Report or even the first few measures as a Dorico file?
All this information could help speed an answer to your question.

1 Like

Dorico includes instrument definitions for more than 600 instruments, but not every single instrument that Dorico knows about has a sound in the provided sound library, unfortunately. In particular with percussion you will find some instruments for which no suitable sound is available, I’m afraid.

HI Daniel and Derrek
Newest Dorico, 4.3, Mac Pro 10.15.7
I’ll have to learn how to submit a diagnostic report, but for this, the instruments DO play when I trigger them individually, they seem to get choked off when in an ensemble. Exactly like the old days when you reached the end of polyphony in a keyboard. That clear enough? All HALion sounds that came with Dorico.

That’s curious. Would you be able to attach a cut-down version of your project sufficient to reproduce the problem?