Dorico slow and crashing

Hello

I’ve upgraded to Dorico 3.5 (running on macOS Catalina) and started to make an arrangement. Everything is really slow, although the project isn’t that big yet (brass band, only 20 bars fully orchestrated) As soon as I try to change something about the preferences of the VST instruments, Dorico crashes.

I’m still very new in using Dorico, so maybe I did something wrong?

Thank you in advance.
Dorico Diagnostics.zip (721 KB)
Loki (BB).dorico 2.zip (719 KB)

Thanks for providing the logs. It looks like you’re experiencing regular crashes in the audio engine, which may well have the effect of making Dorico hang, because when Dorico tries to save or auto-save your project, it requests data from the audio engine in order to save your current VST plug-in settings, and if the audio engine has already crashed, Dorico will wait forever for it and hang. I’ve asked Ulf to weigh in on this.

Hi Cedric, the audio engine is crashing in an area, where we had a bug before and which we thought is fixed.
Do you have any unusual pattern in opening or closing of windows?
Is there any way that you can induce the crashes? Any hint is helpful and appreciated. Thanks

Hi Ulf

I can induce the crash by going in play mode to the VST settings by clicking on the ‘piano keys’ on an instrument track. It works mostly one time, but the second time, it won’t open.

Meanwhile, I have discovered in another project that exporting to midi, WAV of MP3 also keeps loading.

Thank you in advance!

Hi Cedric, sorry I don’t quite understand. Which piano keys do you mean? The ones shown in the attached picture? And what won’t open?

And sorry, also the statement about ‘also keeps loading’, I don’t know what you mean with that either. Please clarify.

And also please attach a new Diagnostics Report, I want to have a look for new crash reports and see if they still show the same pattern as before. Thanks
playmode.png

Dear Ulf

My apologies for being unclear.