Dorico vs Finale

Good Morning People of Dorico,

My name is Ian Hook. I am a VERY young composer. I’ve only ever used Flat (where I started) and Musescore (what I’ve been using for the past 6 months or so). However, I’m ready to switch to a professional program (yes I’m aware Musescore is a pretty good program but it doesn’t scream “professional” to me). I’ve narrowed it down to Finale and Dorico. I was wondering what Dorico does better than Finale and also what Finale does better than Dorico. Overall, from what I’ve seen so far, Dorico is slightly better but there could be some things I’m missing, also Dorico is very new and has a lot of room to grow vs Finale which really doesn’t get many updates anymore.

Thanks in Advance,
Ian Hook

(Please Note: I’ve reached maximum replies as a new member so I have to wait until tomorrow to reply to everyone, I apologize).

1 Like

I’m sure many will pipe in with lots of details but I’ll just say that I used Finale for decades until Dorico came along. It’s faster and easier to get a clean score with minimal tweaking and the support here on the forum from users and especially from the designers is non-pareil.

1 Like

Also, get trial versions of both software and see how you get along. But I will add, that Dorico is the better choice. Now - but especially for the future.

I will say that I have tried Finale but I haven’t gotten to Dorico yet. I highly doubt I’d be able to pick up Finale in 30 days however. Finale is VERY technical.

Okay, I’ll keep that in mind, Thanks for your Feedback!

For Dorico, the YouTube tutorials are your friend. You get a pretty good feel for the programm, even without using it. Obviously you could use the free Dorico SE to get started, but a trial version of the Pro edition is probably going to further.

And if you plan on buying it, don’t forget the educational discount.

I plan to use the free trial of Pro for 30 days and then use SE until I can buy Pro. Thanks for the reminder.