Dotted notes

Does it seem to anyone else that it is actually quite absurd that inputting dotted note values should require turning the dotted value tool on and off? Dots have been an intrinsic part of our notational system since the 14th century and should really be integrated into any notational program as a fundamental element, not as an add-on.

Why isn’t the addition of the dot (or multiple dots) a local operation for each specific note or rest?

The computer notation system I have been using for the last 20 years (Score) lets me add as many dots as I need with an equal number of key-strokes. Dorico complicates the process in much the same way that Sibelius did.

I’ve made the investment in hoping to shift to Dorico, but what’s the point if the fundamental user interface for one of its main selling point – greater flexibility in handling more complex rhythm – is undercut by its clumsiness in handling something as basic and fundamental to musical notation as dots of addition?

1 Like

You can toggle dot (or a number of dots) on while in note input, and any duration you pick will be dotted until you switch it off.

Outside note input (no caret, select mode), you can select notes and rests, and toggle the dot button on, or add more dots with Alt+.
If you do that in insert mode, subsequent notes will shuffle up, giving all selected notes the required rhythmic space to change their duration. If you leave insert mode off, then it will change duration only for those selected notes/rests that are not being overwritten by prior duration changes.

Play with that a bit more, curious to hear what it is you find difficult to achieve.