Draw tool in MIDI Editor: How to change it from jump to ramp

I’m new to Cubase, and was wondering if it’s possible to change the draw tool in the MIDI editor to ramp instead of the default jump, without having to go over the data with the line tool.

Turn off Snap in the Toolbar :wink:

Doing so does not create the “ramp” effect; it’s still “jump”.

With “ramp”, you draw a point at one end of a region, draw another point at the other end, and the two points are automatically connected through a line. Automation works this way and the Tempo track has the feature. I’m sure there’s a way to get this when editing modulation or expression in the MIDI key editor.

Ah, you are talking about in the Controller lane. No, that’s not possible.

I see. So I should just use the Controller lane instead to achieve this?

Okay, now you lost me. What exactly is it you want to accomplish?

Sorry, yeah that was a little unclear…

Just to be able to write something like Modulation for a track in “ramp” mode for smoother transitions in modulation. i was originally doing all of this in the key editor, yet I don’t like how it’s locked into “jump” mode, since especially for things like modulation, you’d want the changes to be as smooth as possible. It seems the only way to get it to “ramp” is through editing it via automation directly in the project’s arrange window. I’m mainly asking if “ramp” mode is possible in controller lanes in the key editor.

I see. Actually you have found the workaround, in using Automation lanes assigned to MIDI CCs. Note the nomenclature- controller lanes are in Key Edit, In the Project window you are using Automation Lanes.

So, yeah. That’s it.

Is that how God intended the Key Editor window to be used? :wink:

Just joiking, but, if there is saved cc data in the editor, how to transfer that to a cc line?

Emil

MIDI Menu>Functions>Extract MIDI Automation.