Drum Map Setup

Hi there,

This is my first post. I am a complete newbie to Cubase and I recently bought Cubase Pro. While I have been able to suss out a number of things, I can’t seem to get a customized drum map for Addictive Drums properly set up. This is what I am trying to do. ADD2 has its own map that doesn’t conform to GM MIDI. The ADD map begins on C1 and goes to A#4. I want to eliminate all of the lanes up to C1 and after A#4, but I can’t figure out how to do this. I’ve read the manual, and I’ve tried various menu choices, but the closest thing I can come to is just ‘show lanes with notes’ as long as I have notes for every articulation and cymbal mute. What am I missing?

Thanks in advance.

Hi and welcome,

Load the plug-in Instrument and load the sound. In the Drum Editor use the Show Drum Sounds in use by Instrument from the Drum Visibility Agents.

Hi, thanks for your reply. Unfortunately, that option is greyed-out, the only ones available are ‘show all drum sounds’ and ‘show drum sounds with events.’

Hi,

I see. Then it seems this option is available for VST3 plug-ins only and ADD2 is probably not VST3.

Well, that is very disappointing. I can’t believe such a simple set-up task can’t be done. One of the reasons why I bought Cubase Pro was to have a dedicated drum editor.

Hi,

As I said, I’m not 100% sure about the statement this is VST3 only. If the statement is correct, then I expect there is a technical reason for it. For example VST2 plug-ins don’t provide this information at all.

There are several reasons, why should the plug-ins developers use VST3 instead of VST2.

Hi,

So you’re suggesting that Cubase never had this capability before vst3? My understanding is that Cubase has had a dedicated drum editor almost since forever. And the grid could not be edited to reflect only the instruments present?

I’ve contacted XLN Audio about this issue, but haven’t heard back.