Drum Maps

Are there any plans to allow the copying over of Cubase Drum Maps to Dorico. Seems to me they are closely related and it would save a lot of typing. I accept the need to create appropriate new Drum Kits.

I don‘t think Cubase‘ drum maps contain the information needed by Dorico. Instruments and playing techniques are unique to and required by Dorico.

Welcome to the forum, Rusperhermit. I’m not an expert on Cubase’s drum maps (far from it!) but they might be able to be used to save a bit of typing in the Play > Percussion Maps dialog, because they only map a specific drum sound to a particular MIDI note, you’d still be missing quite a bit of the information that Dorico depends upon to create meaningful unpitched percussion playback.

I think I did not express my question carefully enough. It seems to me that the Cubase map has info on note assignment, input note number, channel output and notehead type. If the relevant kit element was added then it seems to me that it is close to a percussion map. Obviously I do not know how stuff works below this upper level, but the question was, are there any plans in the future to look at bring the two together. Apart from the strange Steinberg obsession with an alternative MIDI note numbering they seem to have the same structures.

It is close to “denormalised” dorico percusion map, yes, and to be honest, personally I would prefer if Dorico provided such one-stop-shop UI for “drum maps”, which is entierly doable.

However, cubase has no distinction between instrument and playing technique. Instead, they are all plain text sound names, like “Snare - sidestick”, “Snare - rimshot” etc, with ni real structure. Name could be whatever giberish.

It would be possible to even do heuristic / ml supported mappings of sound names to instruments and playing techniques, but i doubt Steinberg is going to implement it.