E-cores Disabled - Some weirdness yesterday

TLDR: after disabling E-cores, re-enabling them fixed a weird issue I was having but I have no idea why or what caused it in the first place. Apologies for the wall of text. I figured it was better to share this information in detail than leave it unsaid.

First thing: Windows 11 (latest), Cubase Pro 12.0.60 , RME Babyface Pro (latest drivers), Intel i9-13900k, 32GB RAM

About a month ago, I built a new PC with a latest generation Intel processor: i9-13900k. I had seen reports on this forum about issues with these, but I’m a hobbyist and music is not my primary use for this PC. I bring this up to clarify that this is not a complaint. I knew what I was getting into.

I primarily use Cubase to record my own music: acoustic and electric guitar (amps into load box with cab sim VST), bass, vocals, drum VST, other random VST instruments and effects sometimes, and outboard guitar pedals. I increase my buffer settings depending on how big/demanding the project is.

Lately, I’ve been recording jam tracks to play electric guitar along to with send effects and some outboard guitar pedals. Prior to the new PC, I had my buffer set to 128 when playing guitar and things were generally peachy. That system had the same OS and interface, but an intel i7-7700k. After the new PC, I was easily able to drop the buffer to 64 for some projects, but then started seeing some major peak spikes. The other meters stay low. Bumping it back to 128 worked fine to prevent any peak spikes going into the red. Then about a week ago, I read about disabling E-cores. I used process lasso (https://bitsum.com/) to set the affinity for the Cubase executable and disabled E-cores and was quite pleased to see the spikes completely under control with a lower buffer. Things had been going well like this for the past week or so.