Easy to use realistic piano library for a beginner

Hi!

I’m totally new to libraries. I only installed NotePerformer 3 (which I dislike!). I’ve seen the great Anthony Hughes tutorial and that’s it.

I’m looking for a Dorico compatible, dongle-less, easy to install piano library that sounds realistic for 19th century piano music (microphones at a distance). All recordings will be solo piano.

I am a little confused by the great number of options, but so far it seems that Modartt Pianoteq 8, Garritan CFX, Ravenscroft 275 or Addictive Keys The Grand fit the bill someway or the other.

Pianoteq 8 seems to be the lowest footprint and is recommended on this forum to another user. My question is: can it sound “suitably classical” in solo recordings?

Any advice? Thanks in advance.

You’ll find folks here love PianoTeq.

3 Likes

I have no experience with the others but Pianoteq has many different pianos (and related instruments) to choose from, which themselves are extremely customizable, including things like microphone placement. And it works in Dorico without any issue.

3 Likes

I don’t know what ‘suitably classical’ means. All that you mentioned are good piano VSTs. Its up to your taste hope you mix them and what mic combos and positions you use. It’s a matter of your taste. You will end up with two or three for sure, and you can refine them as you will. Don’t expect to hit the ideal one first off. It’s a very personal matter. I tend to gravitate to Addictive Keys most of the time, despite the stupid name. I am a classical keyboard player and it does nicely for me.

I’m not sure that ‘microphones at a distance’ implies 19C sound. I have a lot of 19C piano music engineered with a mix of close and farther away mics, standard audio technique. If what you are after is more ‘room’ in the sound then consider adding reverb with a dedicated reverb VST - the ones that seem mandatory to be built in to VST’s are never very good, it not being the main purpose of the VST.